Fitness: Fitocracy App

The Fitocracy app & website has come a long way since its early days in 2010 / 2011. The site & app is a fitness tracker, mainly allowing you to key in your workout and getting points for your deadlifts etc. based on the weight you lift and the number of sets you do. There are challenges, fist bumps, level-ups and a host of things that gamifies your workout to make things a little more fun.

I think I signed up pretty early on, and at that time, the website was good for me. At that time, I was working a lot with weights and occasionally bootcamp. As time went on, and my workouts became more bodyweight and I focused more on yoga asanas, I found the points I accumulated getting less, notwithstanding the toughness of what I was experiencing in my workouts.

Reading through the forums, I realised I was not the only one a little chagrined by this. However, I gamely soldiered on. When my workout was German volume training, the points reached thousands. When I practised Ashtanga Vinyasa, I would get paltry points in the hundreds. Frustrating! Still, it was fun, and the social network you create, place the groups you can join (ranging from Crossfit to bloggers) makes the site a little addictive.

However, you would need to key in your workout, the sets and the weights and reps on a daily basis, which is one of the main reasons why I stopped. If your workouts are rote, when you can save them, or if you are willing to key in your workout as a stock workout (e.g. strength class, bootcamp, other cardio etc – where you will get fixed allotted points based on the intensity), then things are fast. I just didn’t have the time, plus coupled with my dissatisfaction of getting meagre points for yoga, which is so much tougher than bodybuilding, IMHO.

But if you are new and want a way to motivate yourself and make new friends, whether locally or internationally, I highly recommend this app. You might outgrow it, but that’s life, isn’t it? It’s worth checking out, if you haven’t already. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

